Pension Appeals Board. This board, established under the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1970, c.C-5) hears appeals under the Canada Pension Plan and under certain provincial pension plans. It also hears appeals from certain decisions of the umpire under the Unemployment Insurance Act (SC 1971, c.48) as amended. The board consists of two judges of the Federal Court of Canada or of a superior court of a province appointed as chairman and vice-chairman, and from one to eight other persons, each a judge of the federal court or of a superior, district or county court of a province. For appeals under the Canada Pension Plan, the board reports to Parliament through the minister of national health and welfare.

Pension Review Board. The board was created under the minister of veterans affairs by amendments to the Pension Act 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31). Further amendments were made in May 1977, by the Act to Amend the Pension Act (SC 1976-77, c.13). Composed of a chairman, deputy chairman and five other members, the board is an independent and autonomous body that hears appeals from pension applicants dissatisfied with decisions of entitlement boards or assessment boards of the Canadian Pension Commission. The Pension Review Board is also responsible for formally interpreting provisions in parts of the Pension Act.

Petro-Canada. In July 1975 the Petro-Canada Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.61) established Petro-Canada as a Crown corporation to increase the supply of energy available to Canadians, to assist the government in formulating its national energy policy and to increase the Canadian presence in the petroleum industry. The corporation's board of directors consists of a chairman, president and not more than 13 other persons appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its head office is in Calgary, Alta. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration. PFRA, a branch of Agriculture Canada, was established in 1935 (RSC 1970, c.P-17) to assist in the relief of drought in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. PFRA's 88 community pastures are operated on some 925 000 ha (hectares) of land submarginal for cereal production. PFRA has constructed many large irrigation and water storage projects and has assisted technically and financially in more than 185,000 dugouts, wells, dams and irrigation projects for on-farm water supplies. A PFRA tree nursery has distributed more than 450 million tree seedlings to farmers for farm and field shelterbelts. Currently, PFRA is involved in major agreements for water development and drought proofing with the provinces of Manitoba and Saskatchewan, and has recently undertaken several soil conservation projects across the Prairies.

Preparatory Commission for Conversion to the Metric System (Metric Commission Canada). The commission was established by the Metric Commission Order of June 1971. It consists of a chairman and 10 part-time commissioners. The executive director is responsible for the direction of the full-time commission staff.

The commission advises the minister of consumer and corporate affairs on conversion to the metric system and assists sectors to prepare and implement metric conversion plans. It disseminates information related to these plans and to metric conversion generally. Initially, there were over 100 sector committees covering all areas of the economy; of these, more than 50 have completed their assigned work. The remaining sectors, operating under the umbrella of six co-ordinating committees, continue with their conversion activities. Members of these committees represent industry, labour, consumers, trade, standards and service associations, governments and other concerned bodies.

Each committee developed its own conversion plan aimed at achieving metric conversion with a minimum of disruption to the industry and its customers. Committees monitor the progress of conversion, co-ordinate with customers, suppliers and related industries and amend or modify their activities to achieve an orderly conversion.

Privacy Commissioner of Canada. The privacy commissioner is appointed by Parliament to deal with complaints by citizens who allege that the federal government has failed to comply with their rights to personal information as outlined in the Privacy Act.

The commissioner reviews and audits the collection, use and disposal of personal information by the government institutions listed in the schedule to the privacy act.

The privacy commissioner reports directly to Parliament annually and may submit special reports.

The commissioner undertakes studies, as requested by the minister of justice, relating to the privacy of individuals, the extension of rights to which individuals are entitled under the act, and the treatment of personal information by government institutions other than those within the legislative authority of Parliament.

Privy Council Office. For administrative purposes, the office is regarded as a department of government for which the prime minister has responsibility as set forth in order-in-council PC 1962-240. The clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a deputy head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the public service. The genesis of the office is in Sections 11 and 130 of the Constitution Act. 1867, which constituted a council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, with the wartime development of cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the clerk of the Privy Council was designated secretary to the cabinet, and the cabinet secretariat was brought into being in the Privy Council office. Since 1940, the office has been further reorganized, developed and enlarged and certain of its administrative support functions and those of the prime minister's office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and

The organization consists primarily of the cabinet secretariat with two divisions reporting to the clerk of the Privy Council and secretary to the cabinet. Each division contains a number of secretariats that support the cabinet and its committees. The secretariats prepare agenda, circulate necessary documents to ministers, and record and circulate decisions. They communicate with government departments and agencies and provide advisory support